Mendis dropped while Malinga included for Tests
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Player:BAW Mendis, SL Malinga
Event:India in Sri Lanka 2010

DateLine: 10th July 2010


The Lankan selectors omitted Ajantha Mendis from thier Test plans as the finger spinner finds his name missing from the Sri Lankan Test squad. The last time the Indian side visited the Lankan shores in 2008 Mendis was uncomprehendable for the Indian batsmen as the spinner was the chief tormentor taking 26 wickets.


Lasith Malinga last played longer format of the game in December 2007 against England before being pigeonholed as a limited over specialist. The selectors have strengthened the pace department with the inclusion of Dilhara Fernando, Dammika Prasad and Chanaka Welegedara.


Muttiah Muralitharan who will quit Tests after the Galle game will lead the spin trio which contains Rangana Herath and Suraj Randiv as well.


Squad: Kumar Sangakkara (capt), Muttiah Muralitharan (vc), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Tharanga Paranavitana, Mahela Jayawardene, Thilan Samaraweera, Angelo Mathews, Prasanna Jayawardene, Lasith Malinga, Rangana Herath, Dilhara Fernando, Dammika Prasad, Suraj Randiv, Thilina Kandamby, Chanaka Welegedara, Lahiru Thirimanne.