Harbhajan Singh to lead Punjab in Ranji Trophy
by CricketArchive

Player:Harbhajan Singh, Mandeep Singh
Event:Ranji Trophy 2012/13

DateLine: 3rd October 2012


Test star Harbhajan Singh was named skipper of the Punjab Ranji Trophy squad for the upcoming domestic season 2012-2013 by the Punjab Senior Selection Committee which met at PCA Stadium Mohali. Young batsman Mandeep Singh was named his deputy. The other members of the squad are Karan Goel, Jeevanjot Singh, Yuvraj Singh, Uday Kaul, Mayank Sidana, Amitoz Singh, Rahul Sharma, Siddharth Kaul, Manpreet Gony, Sandeep Sharma, Gurkirat Mann, Bipul Sharma and Rajwinder Golu. The selected players have been asked to report for the camp at PCA Stadium Mohali on 8th October,2012. The camp will be taken by Mr. Harvinder Singh, the bowling coach of Punjab Team with the help of other coaches and support staff. According to Mr. M.P. Pandove, Honorary secretary, PCA apart from the camp the selected players will play two 2-day matches to assess their match fitness levels.


The senior selection committee also named the Under-25 squad which will be led by Taruwar Kohli and will have Ravi Inder Singh, Simrat Bawa, Gurkirat Walia, Himanshu Chawla, Gitansh Khera, Gurinder Singh, Yogesh Kumar, Rahul Singla, Beant Singh, Deepak Bansal, Kamal Passi, Amit Prashar, Preet Kamal and Sharad Lumba. The Under-25 squad will undergo a training camp at Dhruv Pandove Stadium Patiala from 5th to 13th October,2012 under the supervision of the coach Mr. Arun Bedi.