Rohit Sharma fined for ICC Code of Conduct breach
by ICC Media Release

Scorecard:India v Sri Lanka
Player:BNJ Oxenford, RE Koertzen, SJ Davis, JJ Crowe, RG Sharma
Event:Commonwealth Bank Series 2007/08

DateLine: 6th February 2008


India ’s Rohit Sharma has been fined 10 per cent of his match fee after being found guilty of breaching the ICC’s Code of Conduct during his side’s ODI against Sri Lanka in the Commonwealth Bank Series on Tuesday.


The punishment was handed down by Jeff Crowe of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees following a hearing that took place in Brisbane after the match was washed out.


The player was charged under clause 1.3 of the ICC Code of Conduct which refers to “showing dissent at an umpire’s decision”.


The charge was laid by on-field umpires Rudi Koertzen of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires and Steve Davis of the Emirates International Panel.


Explaining his decision after the hearing, Mr Crowe said: “In the pre-series briefing, it was made very clear to the three team managements what was expected of them and their players in the one-day series.


“The teams were told in detail about various clauses of the ICC Code of Conduct, including clause 1.3.


“There was a lengthy delay after Rohit Sharma finally departed the crease when he was given out. When the umpire’s finger goes up, the batsman must go without delay regardless what he thinks of the decision.”


The hearing was attended by the two on-field umpires named above, the third umpire Bruce Oxenford, the player concerned and India team manager Chetan Chauhan.


A Level 1 breach of the ICC Code of Conduct carries a minimum penalty of an official reprimand and/or a fine of up to the equivalent of 50 per cent of a player’s match fee.


In the case of Level 1 breaches of the Code the match referee’s decision is final and there is no right of appeal.


The ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Officials can be found at: